Historical Markers
in Dillon County, South Carolina

View an interactive map of Dillon County with Marker locations & text.
Portable Document Format .pdf - size 335 kb

Markers are listed below in chrnological order as erected
with links to the marker text, photos, etc.

1. The Meeting House

2. James W. Dillon House Museum

3. Early Cotton Press

4. Joel Allen House

5. Selkirk Farm

6. Catfish Creek Baptist Church

7. Saint Paul Methodist Church

8. Dillon County Courthouse

9. The Latta Library

10. Reedy Creek Springs

11. Pee Dee Church

12. Town of Dillon
Florence Railroad Company

17-1 The Meeting House
Road 56 at Bear Swamp Baptist Church
On December 22, 1801, one acre on the north side of Bear Swamp was deeded for the
use of the Baptist Society. Local tradition says that the meeting house that stood on this
tract was built in the 1780s and was used as a camp site by travelers between
Fayetteville and Georgetown. In 1831, the Baptist Society was constituted as Bear
Swamp church. Erected by Bear Swamp Baptist Church and the Friday Afternoon Book
Club of Lake View, S. C.-1970

return to Table Of Contents

17-2 James W. Dillon House Museum
1304 West Main Street, Dillon
This house was built in 1890 as the home of James W. Dillon, the father of Dillon
County, and is on the National Register of Historic Places. Purchased by the Dillon
County Historical Society in 1967, it was moved to this site and restored as a museum to
preserve a record of those who contributed to the development of Dillon County. Erected
by Dillon County Historical Society-1971

return to Table Of Contents

17-3 Early Cotton Press
SC 38, 0.3 mile W of its junction with SC 917
This cotton press, built in 1798 according to tradition, is thought by many to be the oldest
in existence. It was first owned and used by John Bethea, III, and later by Henry Berry.
Powered by oxen or mules rotating the beam to tighten the press, it was rendered
obsolete by modern machinery. A Berry descendant moved it to this site about 1948 to
preserve it. Erected by Dillon County Historical Society-1974

return to Table Of Contents

17-4 Joel Allen House
Intersection of Roads 38 and 29 at Centerville Crossroads, 7 miles NW of Latta
This house, located 1/4 mile E, was built about 1857 by Joel Allen, a Baptist minister
who organized and served many churches in the Pee Dee area, 1838-1884. He
represented Marion County in the S. C. General Assembly, 1870-1872. His son, W. B.
Allen, added a second story to the 1 1/2 story dwelling about 1891. The present kitchen
was built about 1940 by J. J. Allen. Erected by Dillon County Historic Preservation

return to Table Of Contents

17-5 Selkirk Farm
Intersection of Roads 28 and 38, about 3.5 miles NE of Bingham
David Satterwhite was granted 177 acres here in 1789 by Charles Pinckney, governor of
S. C. In 1855 this tract passed into the hands of the Rev. James A. Cousar, who added
a three-acre tract in 1858 on which he built the present house, gin house, and
outbuildings. The name originated from a nearby post office, which was discontinued in
1901. Erected by Dillon County Historic Preservation Commission-1975

return to Table Of Contents

17-6 Catfish Creek Baptist Church
Intersection of Road 63 and Road 41
This Baptist church, constituted in 1802, has ordained eleven ministers, provided a
missionary to Brazil, and has helped to establish a number of other churches. The
present house of worship, dedicated in 1883 with portico added in 1970, is on the
National Register of Historic Places. Erected by Dillon County Historic Preservation

return to Table Of Contents

17-7 Saint Paul Methodist Church
Town of Little Rock, about 150 yards E of the intersection of SC 9 and Road 23
This church was established prior to 1803 and was known as Liberty Chapel. The
present structure, built in 1871, is significant both for its architecture and as a reflection
of Methodism in the Pee Dee area. A Victorian adaptation of the classic meeting-house
form, St. Paul's was entered in the National Register of Historic Places in 1977. Erected
by Dillon County Historic Preservation Commission-1978

return to Table Of Contents

Dillon County Courthouse grounds, Dillon
(Front) Dillon County
Originally in colonial Craven County, this area became part of Georgetown District,
1769; Liberty County, 1785; Marion District, 1798; and Marion County, 1868. The
movement to separate this county from upper Marion County began some years before
the General Assembly enacted the bill creating Dillon County. It was signed by Governor
Martin F. Ansel, Feb. 5, 1910, in the presence of Dillon citizens.
(Reverse) Dillon County Courthouse
James W. Dillon and his son Thomas gave one-half of this block for erection of the Dillon
County Courthouse; they also assisted financially in its construction. The cornerstone
was laid October 30, 1911. Honoring James W. Dillon as father of Dillon county, the
granite monument on the grounds was unveiled June 29, 1938. Erected by Dillon County
Historic Preservation Commission-1979

return to Table Of Contents

Main and Marion streets, Latta
(Front) The Latta Library
In 1911, W. C. Allen led a movement for a public library in Latta and was authorized by
the town council to negotiate with Andrew Carnegie for funds. After the town complied
with conditions set by Carnegie, Carnegie donated $5,000 and C. F. Bass of Latta gave
land for the building, which opened as the Latta Library in 1914. Voters in a valid election
levied a tax for maintenance. A rear portion and north wing were added later.
(Reverse) The Latta Library
This library initially served the Latta area and its schools, but in 1929 extended its
service to all Dillon County schools. The cost led the library board to ask the county to
provide aid. The county complied, although local control of library services continued. By
statutory provision in 1973, a county library providing for countywide control was
established; the Latta Library is the base of this operation. Erected by Latta Rotary Club- 1979

return to Table Of Contents

Near Marlboro-Dillon county line, about 1 mile S of Bingham on SC 34
(Front) Reedy Creek Springs
About 0.4 mile NW is Reedy Creek Springs, known for the medicinal value of its water.
Here, before the turn of the century, William B. Allen laid out a quadrangle of a few
acres, planted water oaks, and built a pavilion, hotel, cottages, and stables. The spa
became popular as a gathering place for religious, educational, cultural, and social
groups from a wide area.
(Reverse) Reedy Creek Springs
Reedy Creek Springs was a popular Pee Dee area resort for a number of years before
and after 1900, and visitors traveled here by train and by horse. As automobiles became
common, however, vacationers went further afield, and the springs were neglected and
suffered the ravages of time. Broken stones now mark the site of this once-popular spa.
Erected by Dillon County Historic Preservation Commission-1982

return to Table Of Contents

17-11 Pee Dee Church
SC 9, about 2 miles E of Dillon, turn right on Road 44 and travel about 3 miles to the church
Duncan McIntire, a licensed minister who preached in Gaelic for those who could speak
no other language, organized this Presbyterian congregation shortly before 1829. The
present vernacular Gothic revival structure was completed by 1851. A number of other
congregations had their beginnings in this church. Erected by Dillon County Historical

return to Table Of Contents

Near Seaboard Coastline railroad depot, Main Street, Dillon
(Front) Town of Dillon
Dillon was laid out by civil engineers of the Florence Railroad Company following a plan
by John H. David, a local physician. The town was incorporated by the General
Assembly on December 22, 1888, and its boundaries extended in a half-mile radius from
the railroad depot. The first mayor and postmaster of the town was Duncan McLaurin. In
1893, a freight station was constructed, and in 1904, the present passenger depot was
(Reverse) Florence Railroad Company
In 1882, the Florence Railroad Company was chartered and authorized to build and
operate a line east of Florence northward to the state border. Right-of-way problems
here were solved when J. W. Dillon and his son Thomas offered half-interest in 63 acres
if the railroad would use the land, build a depot, and lay out a town. The offer was
accepted, and the railroad from Pee Dee to the state line was opened in 1888. Erected
by Dillon County Historic Preservation Commission-1980

return to Table Of Contents

The South Carolina Department of Archives and History site contains basic information
about the S.C. Historical Marker Program and not texts, photographs, or other information
about individual markers.


Pee Dee Resource Conservation and Development Council

2002 Pee Dee Resource Conservation and Development Council.

This page was last updated on October 13, 2003